6 Seconds Of Pure Defeat

Patrick - Jr.It was my junior year of high school. I had wrestled with my dad and friends. Surely I could do something serious on the mats. So, I joined the wrestling team.

It was about that time that I also met my sweetheart. A vivacious 17 year old cheerleader who couldn’t get enough of me (KC). I was pretty proud of myself. She certainly wasn’t going to miss my first wrestling match…but she did!

We had been at the match for an hour and we had another hour to go. She left the gym to grab a coke from the machine and returned immediately. The match ended. She was surprised that her amazing boyfriend hadn’t wrestled after all.

The painful truth? All I remember was the three hits. He hit me, I hit the floor, and the ref smacked the mat “pinned.” It all happened in the time it took to get a coke…a 6 second match.

Where am I going with this painful story of a 6 second defeat? Our kids face defeat. Sometimes, it’s plain embarrassing! How do we comfort our kids in the midst of defeat?

It was only after I joined the wrestling team that the coach began to “mold” me and “shape” me into the wrestler he wanted me to be. I continued to mess up but he used each of those failures to teach me something new.  Philippians 1:6 – And I am sure that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on that day when Christ Jesus comes back again.

God is working in your kid’s lives. Let them learn the lessons that come with ‘life’. I watch too many parents take the consequences so that their kids don’t feel any pain. They don’t learn the “God lessons” at an early age.

God uses both the good and the bad to ‘mold’ and ‘shape’ our kids. Remind them that God is at work in their lives. He/she may not realize it or understand it but He is SHAPING them through things that happen in their lives. He is not done with YOU yet! Let’s see how God will bring good from this one day.

Patrick Newbill
Kids Pastor

Leave a Reply

